Defending The Faith.

Standard

As Catholics we are constantly challenged by the world to prove ourselves and our Church. When starting this blog it never hit me that I would have to actually do this. Defend and protect. It is called in our sacrament of confirmation to do this but I was unsure if God would ever really throw those challenges in my direction. None the less, He seemed to throw a curve ball my way!

When publishing my first post, my introduction, I received a comment. The e-mail popped up in my account and I was apprehensive whether to approve it or not. I’m one not to shelter away from opinions, so I thought I’d make a whole blog post about it! The comment went like this (word for word, I may add):

“well if your touting cataholic dogmas on your blog,, then i seriously doubt as to whether there will in fact be anything useful on your blog at all,, except to those that are just as deceived as you are..!!”

Upon reading this several thoughts jumbled into my head.

  1. I wonder why this person disagrees with the Catholic faith?
  2. I’m fairly sure I am not deceived by anything.
  3. The term ‘useful’ is always left up to the opinion of the person.

It does not bother me that this user has their opinion and wishes to speak their mind online. In fact, I am always open to discussion of Catholicism and I’m glad they felt comfortable enough to leave a comment! Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and each opinion should be respected in it’s own way. However, there is only one truth. As Catholics we are not trying to convince anyone or trying to persuade them into converting, we are only informing. That is our job as Catholics and this is what God calls us to do (Mark 16:15).

If you don’t believe in God, that’s fine. If you do and don’t agree with Catholic teachings, that’s fine as well. Catholics, however, are not going to stop just because of this. We will continue to preach to non-believers and believers alike because that is what Jesus Christ instructed that we do.
Believe it or not, Catholics are suppose to evangelize as well.
How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? – Romans 10:14

We as Catholics can defend our faith in many ways. With the Catechism of the Catholic Church (which is all scripture sited, by the way), the Bible, and historical accounts. People may try to persuade me otherwise but because of the amount of proof the Catholic Church has it was the main reason that I decided to convert!

Here is a really informational video from Catholic Answers that I found that I think would be helpful to other Catholics.

If you’re a Catholic who actively has to defend the Church, you are in my prayers! We need more people who will stand up and correctly inform others of our beliefs! And do not give up!

“There are not more than 100 people in the world who truly hate the Catholic Church, but there are millions who hate what they perceive to be the Catholic Church.” – Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen

God bless!

– Carleigh

4 thoughts on “Defending The Faith.

  1. I just want to encourage you in your blog, and most importantly in your faith. Don’t let spooky people get you down 😉

    I’m glad to see you referring to Catholic Answers. They are a great resource.

    May God bless you!

    -Ben

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment