Catholic Communication: Speaking with God

Standard

Hello all! It’s been awhile, hm?

Here at home the winter has been getting a little bit chilly and school is starting to wrap up for the semester (thank goodness!). So I’ve been a bit busy!

I just wanted to quickly write up something that’s been on my mind recently…
How do you know when you’re actually communicating with God?

This question has puzzled my mind since becoming Catholic. Actually it wracked my brain when I was agnostic as well. I’ve always had trouble figuring out how to really talk and listen to God. However, I think I’ve finally got it figured it out…to some extent.

But what does scripture and the saints say?
St.John says that we know all things through the Holy Spirit. “But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and you know all things.” And St.Paul says that God enters our very thoughts. “Not that we are sufficient to think anything of ourselves, as of ourselves, but our sufficiency is from God.”

God inspires our will without us even realizing it. I’ve come to notice that God speaks to me through my thoughts and desires. Granted, God will not speak evil to you. So if you are having evil thoughts… that’s definitely not God talking to you. But many are not aware that God speaks to them because they simply aren’t listening.

Notice I’ve italicized the word listening twice already? It’s important.

The way we speak to God can be through many different ways. Just simply talking to Him while alone is what I tend to do. I have formal prayer, but while I’m driving I like to mull over the happenings in my day and hash it all out with God. He’ll listen. He LOVES listening to us! However, with that in mind, we should be returning the favor. No relationship deeply develops if just one person is doing all the talking, right?
In order to fully connect with our Lord we need to listen. Be silent in prayer and just let God speak to you. This doesn’t come easy as first; I remember having so many thoughts jumbled in my head I couldn’t imagine how the heck God was going to squeeze Himself into that mess. But with practice it’ll come. Just ask the the Holy Spirit to help you and slowly that relationship will deepen. Just don’t expect to come to you quickly. It takes sweet and precious time.

This article from Catholic Exchange is a wonderful resource and goes further indepth about the topic: http://catholicexchange.com/how-to-hear-god-speaking-to-you

With Advent beginning within a couple of weeks I challenge you to draw closer to God! I promise He won’t lead you astray.

Til then! God bless!

– Carleigh

2 thoughts on “Catholic Communication: Speaking with God

Leave a comment